|
Mailing Lists
|
Home /
Groups /
ColdFusion Talk (CF-Talk)
CFMAIL flagged as spam
I am sending out an email to a user who signs up for a message board (asRobert Redpath 06/09/04 12:03 P What spam filter are the people getting the mail running? Spamassasin istechmike 06/09/04 12:22 P On Jun 9, 2004, at 12:20 PM, techmike wrote:Damien McKenna 06/09/04 12:32 P Better yet, use cfmail to send me the same message to techmike (at) mfcmstechmike 06/09/04 12:37 P When I had this problem on a PHP system I was developing, I ran itDamien McKenna 06/09/04 12:30 P Some spam detection engines - notably spamassasin - will detect that outlookIan Tait 06/09/04 12:26 P Search the list archives... this topic came up recentlyGaulin, Mark 06/09/04 12:32 P That's exactly it - I'm trying to figure out why it is bieng flagged asRobert Redpath 06/09/04 01:39 P Great thanks - I'll see what I can do about that IP. I guess I need to maskRobert Redpath 06/09/04 03:35 P I am sending out an email to a user who signs up for a message board (as well as subsequent messages) and the emails are getting flagged as spam and either not being forwarded by the email server or being sent to a spam quarantine folder in the users inbox. How do I get my CFMAIL email not flagged as spam? I've checked the CFadmin logs and the emails are being sent out of CF. I can send an email via my outlook to the user but somehowusing CF it shows as spam. I've also tried text email vs HTML. And I've added the MAILERID field and the mail admin says there is a reverse DNS lookup on the email server (Exchange 2003) but no luck. My CFMAIL code is below. Anyone have any ideas? TIA, Bob -------------------------- <cfmail from="#application.prefs.adminName# <#application.prefs.adminEmail#>" subject="#application.prefs.forumsTitle#: Reply posted to topic #topic.subject#" to="#subscriber.email#" server="#application.prefs.mailServer#" type="HTML" MAILERID="Microsoft Outlook, Build 10.0.5510" What spam filter are the people getting the mail running? Spamassasin is big on html in the body of the message.. Could be something like that catching it.. ----- Excess quoted text cut - see Original Post for more ----- On Jun 9, 2004, at 12:20 PM, techmike wrote: > What spam filter are the people getting the mail running? Spamassasin > is > big on html in the body of the message.. Could be something like that > catching it.. SpamAssassin is big on _bad_ HTML, like yellow writing, etc, as these are tricks often used to hide stuff in emails (links, etc.). -- Damien McKenna - Web Developer - dmckenna@thelimucompany.com The Limu Company - http://www.thelimucompany.com/ - 407-804-1014 Better yet, use cfmail to send me the same message to techmike (at) mfcms (dot) com, and I will post the spamassasin results.. :) -Mike ----- Excess quoted text cut - see Original Post for more ----- When I had this problem on a PHP system I was developing, I ran it through SpamAssassin to see what the comments were. That might be your best bet, you'll be able to see which headers, etc., are being tripped up on. ----- Excess quoted text cut - see Original Post for more ----- One thing off the top of my head is that you are telling it to pretend that it comes from Outlook but it probably missing extra headers. Try setting it to something else. You'll need to look into <cfmailparam> to set additional headers to keep the spam checkers happy. Once you perfect it you might also consider setting up a CFC or CFX with your default settings so you don't have to remember the same settings each time you want to send an email. -- Damien McKenna - Web Developer - dmckenna@thelimucompany.com The Limu Company - http://www.thelimucompany.com/ - 407-804-1014 Some spam detection engines - notably spamassasin - will detect that outlook didn't actually send the message, and bump up the spam score. Forged headers (which is what you are doing) aren't neccessarily a good thing. :-) Ian _____ Sent: 09 June 2004 17:00 To: CF-Talk Subject: CFMAIL flagged as spam I am sending out an email to a user who signs up for a message board (as well as subsequent messages) and the emails are getting flagged as spam and either not being forwarded by the email server or being sent to a spam quarantine folder in the users inbox. How do I get my CFMAIL email not flagged as spam? I've checked the CFadmin logs and the emails are being sent out of CF. I can send an email via my outlook to the user but somehowusing CF it shows as spam. I've also tried text email vs HTML. And I've added the MAILERID field and the mail admin says there is a reverse DNS lookup on the email server (Exchange 2003) but no luck. My CFMAIL code is below. Anyone have any ideas? TIA, Bob -------------------------- <cfmail from="#application.prefs.adminName# <#application.prefs.adminEmail#>" subject="#application.prefs.forumsTitle#: Reply posted to topic #topic.subject#" to="#subscriber.email#" server="#application.prefs.mailServer#" type="HTML" MAILERID="Microsoft Outlook, Build 10.0.5510" > _____ Search the list archives... this topic came up recently I am sending out an email to a user who signs up for a message board (as well as subsequent messages) and the emails are getting flagged as spam and either not being forwarded by the email server or being sent to a spam quarantine folder in the users inbox. How do I get my CFMAIL email not flagged as spam? I've checked the CFadmin logs and the emails are being sent out of CF. I can send an email via my outlook to the user but somehowusing CF it shows as spam. I've also tried text email vs HTML. And I've added the MAILERID field and the mail admin says there is a reverse DNS lookup on the email server (Exchange 2003) but no luck. My CFMAIL code is below. Anyone have any ideas? TIA, Bob -------------------------- <cfmail from="#application.prefs.adminName# <#application.prefs.adminEmail#>" subject="#application.prefs.forumsTitle#: Reply posted to topic #topic.subject#" to="#subscriber.email#" server="#application.prefs.mailServer#" type="HTML" MAILERID="Microsoft Outlook, Build 10.0.5510" > _____ That's exactly it - I'm trying to figure out why it is bieng flagged as spam.I'm downloading mailassasin for windows (don't have unix) and see what that comes up with. I have changed the mailer agent using MAILERID (using CFPARAM to change the mailer agent just adds another mailer agent to the header) That's a good idea I'll put in a message ID but first though I have to go to the dentist (Ughhh) Perhaps after the dentist I'll get it worked out.......thanks for everyones help. Bob If you could find out WHY it's being flagged as SPAM that would be helpful to you... barring that, there are some things that CFMAIL doesn't (or didn't used to) do that cause them to get flagged as spam. I seem to recall setting some special mail headers helps.. like changing the mail user agent to "Outlook Express" or some typical mail client can help.. view the headers of any of your current messages to find out the mail user agent strings... then use the <CFMAILPARAM> tag. Sometimes it's also helpful to add a message ID (I can't remember if CFMAIL does that or not). - Rick _____ Great thanks - I'll see what I can do about that IP. I guess I need to mask that somehow. Thanks, Bob PS - 1 cavity.....bummer Wow, got it just as I sent my last message.. I found your problem.. And I also found a hole in my spam filter.. Your message didn't get filtered by by server because of this 192.168.0.8 ip address. I happen to use the same range of ip's at home so the server treats those as trusted. However most mail servers are probably going to see that and realize it's a non-routable address.. -Mike Return-path: Received: from wellstone.NMHA.NET ([68.48.176.143]) by mfcms. com (mfcms.com) (MDaemon.PRO.v7.0.1.R) with ESMTP id md50000004214.msg for ; Wed, 09 Jun 2004 13:08:16 -0400 Received: from ljxn ([192.168.0.8]) by wellstone.NMHA.NET with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.0); Wed, 9 Jun 2004 13: 07:39 -0400 Message-ID: <23840729.1086800859659.JavaMail.SYSTEM@ljxn> Date: Wed, 9 Jun 2004 13:07:39 -0400 From: Robert Redpath <RRedpath@nmha.org> To: CF-Talk <cf-talk@houseoffusion.com> Date: Wed, 9 Jun 2004 13:08:24 -0400 Subject: RE: Spam:Re: CFMAIL flagged as spam > One spam software was BrightMail and was Yahoo. > > I'll send it through spamassain and see what I find. (and to you > techmike) _____
|
February 08, 2012
|
Latest Fusion Authority Articles
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||