House of Fusion
Search over 2,500 ColdFusion resources here
  
Home of the ColdFusion Community

Mailing Lists
Home /  Groups /  ColdFusion Talk (CF-Talk)

Deeply suspicious of this pricing

  << Previous Post |  RSS |  Sort Oldest First |  Sort Latest First |  Subscribe to this Group Next >> 
Top  |   Reply  |   Original Post  |   RSS Feed  |   Subscribe to this Group
Author:
Scott Ashman
07/06/2004 02:09 PM

We need to pick another copy of MX 6.1 and I came across this : http://dailysoft.biz/?page=studiomx2004&pid=9583&cart= Something doesn't add up, but I thought I'd pose the question to you all if you thought it was legit or have done business with them before.   Thanks.   ah!  I missed that little word IN CAPS :) thx.  I will grab and will   probably even write some docs!   Again, the source code is in CVS on the sourceforge site; not in any   downloadable form. Either use your favorite CVS client to access the source   or use the web-based client provided by sourceforge.   http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs.py/*checkout*/openxcf/javacfx/src/net/sou   rceforge/openxcf/javacfx/ExcelQuery.java?rev=1.2   -Matt   > On Behalf Of Calder, Erick   > Sent: Tuesday, July 06, 2004 12:48 PM   > To: CF-Talk   > Subject: RE: Manipulation Excel files   >   > hmm... the javacfx tarball contains .class files, not .java files... am I   > supposed to download some other tarball?   >   > All the source code is up on the sourceforge site in CVS. You are correct   > there is no documentation and I didn't respond to your email.   >   > It's an open source project; feel free to write the documentation.   >   > -Matt   >   > > On Behalf Of Calder, Erick   > > Sent: Tuesday, July 06, 2004 11:27 AM   > > To: CF-Talk   > > Subject: RE: Manipulation Excel files   > >   > > I downloaded this package but it includes no documentation, no source   > code   > > (so one can't figure out the interface) and I e-mailed the author but   > got   > > no   > > response.   > >   > > Hi Matt,   > >   > > Will this plugin work with files that is not formatted nicely in rows   > and   > > columns, can the tag read the file and determine cell positions?   > >   I have an open source CFX available at   > >   http://sourceforge.net/projects/openxcf named CFX_ExcelQuery that   > allows   > > you   > >   to read and write XLS files as CF queries.   > >   > >   -Matt   > >   > > [mailto:listmaster@houseoffusion.com]   > >   > On Behalf Of Mickael   > >   > Sent: Monday, July 05, 2004 10:54 AM   > >   > To: CF-Talk   > >   > Subject: Manipulation Excel files   > >   >   > >   > Hello All,   > >   >   > >   > I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction.  I   > > need   > >   > to be able to extract certain information from cells an excel file,   > > update   > >   > some cell, delete some rows in the file then import the file to my   > >   > database.  Can anybody point me to a resource that explains how to   > do   > > this   > >   > or if someone has some experience with this it would be greatly   > >   > appreciated.   > >   >   > >   > Thank you,   > >   >   > >   > Mike   > >   >   > >   >   > >   >   > >   _____   > >   > >   > >   > >   >   _____   >   >   >   >     _____

Top  |   Parent  |   Reply  |   Original Post  |   RSS Feed  |   Subscribe to this Group
Author:
Barney Boisvert
07/06/2004 02:18 PM

You looking for Studio MX, or ColdFusion MX?  That link is to studio. Cheers, barneyb ----- Excess quoted text cut - see Original Post for more -----

Top  |   Parent  |   Reply  |   Original Post  |   RSS Feed  |   Subscribe to this Group
Author:
Matt Robertson
07/06/2004 02:28 PM

> We need to pick another copy of MX 6.1 and I came across this : > http://dailysoft.biz/?page=studiomx2004&pid=9583&cart= ... > Something doesn't add up The last I heard this was an Eastern European firm selling bootleg disks.  Sent me spam about once weekly.  They used to say in their FAQ that the software was a 'backup' ... not-so-secret code for 'burned copy'.  They do point out that you cannot register the software or get tech support.  Thats sort of a flag, eh? :-) You can indeed save money on true OEM software.  Usually the companies that are legit (as such things go) will sell OEM software that is supposed to ONLY be sold with 'hardware'.  So those guys will send you your software and, if you look, you'll also find an ancient memory chip in the packaging or somesuch.  Complies with the letter of the licensing (maybe) but definitely not the spirit. But the discounts on true OEM stuff are nowhere near these prices. -- --Matt Robertson-- MSB Designs, Inc. mysecretbase.com

Top  |   Parent  |   Reply  |   Original Post  |   RSS Feed  |   Subscribe to this Group
Author:
Damien McKenna
07/06/2004 02:36 PM

On Jul 6, 2004, at 2:25 PM, Matt Robertson wrote: > The last I heard this was an Eastern European firm selling bootleg > disks.  Sent me spam about once weekly.  They used to say in their FAQ > that the software was a 'backup' ... not-so-secret code for 'burned > copy'. A while back I went looking for a discounted copy of DreamweaverMX 2004 (Mac ed, the DWMX we had was Winders only) and found several people selling pirated copies on Ebay.  I hope those people are reading as I turned them in to Macromedia. -- Damien McKenna - Web Developer - dmckenna@thelimucompany.com The Limu Company - http://www.thelimucompany.com/ - 407-804-1014 "Nothing endures but change." - Heraclitus

Top  |   Parent  |   Reply  |   Original Post  |   RSS Feed  |   Subscribe to this Group
Author:
Jochem van Dieten
07/06/2004 04:39 PM

Matt Robertson wrote: > > But the discounts on true OEM stuff are nowhere near these prices. I can get a perfectly legitimate Studio MX 2004 for far less:        Macromedia Studio MX 2004 UK serial        Platform: Mac OS 10.2.6, Windows 98-2, 2000, XP        Medium: Voucher        € 3,25 This is an academic license and I would need to download it myself and renew it every year, but I think the price is more then reasonable :-) Jochem

Top  |   Parent  |   Reply  |   Original Post  |   RSS Feed  |   Subscribe to this Group
Author:
Matt Robertson
07/06/2004 04:58 PM

Yeah, academic licenses are far better than OEM, pricingwise.  I can't qualify for 'em, so if I want cheeeep software I have to go visit a back alley in Moscow  :D Speaking of which, the domain that started this thread is registered to an address there.  Probably its really the local police station or GUM. Either that or I get my daughter to move home...  I'll pay full retail. Cheers, --Matt-- ----- Excess quoted text cut - see Original Post for more -----

Top  |   Parent  |   Reply  |   Original Post  |   RSS Feed  |   Subscribe to this Group
Author:
Cary Gordon
07/06/2004 05:13 PM

Welllll... Other than the fact that: 1) They claim to be selling "OEM software", which, in the real world, is software licensed for distribution with a new machine.  AFAIK, Macromedia does not do OEM. 2) They claim to use 128 bit encryption, but in fact just pass everything back through the url string. 3) They are in Moscow and the address given for "Anastaia Velikopolskaya", the registrant, is one digit off the address for Moscow State U." and so on... I honestly do not think that they are selling bogus software.  In fact I don't think that they are selling anything, just phishing for credit card info. Cary Gordon The Cherry Hill Company At 11:10 AM 7/6/2004, you wrote: ----- Excess quoted text cut - see Original Post for more -----


<< Previous Thread Today's Threads Next Thread >>

Search cf-talk

May 24, 2012

<<   <   Today   >   >>
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
     1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31     

Designer, Developer and mobile workflow conference